Lost and found

1 02 2008

PlugsI admit it: I’m still addicted to Lost. Maybe I am not quite as enthusiastic about it as I was when I first saw it, but I certainly can’t stop watching it now. I managed to miss the show entirely for the first season and still haven’t watched it, but there are so many flashbacks, I think I have a good understanding of what’s going on. Actually, I should clarify. I have absolutely no clue what is going on, but I have as good an understanding as the other people who watch it.

Lost

I really wish there were more shows like Lost, shows that require a little brain usage. I think the correct word to describe the majority of the shows on TV today is “amusing.” They aren’t hilarious or suspenseful or sophisticated, just amusing. No one would disagree that many people prefer their shows simple and amusing, but Lost is the polar opposite, and it still maintains a crowd.

There have been some comparisons between Lost and Heroes (which I also watch regularly). Both contain enormous casts of characters, whose lives are all mysteriously interconnected. There is always another person behind another curtain pulling even more strings than previously thought. The episodes traverse the past and the future, both of which have a great effect on what is happening in the present. The biggest difference, though, is the style of characters created for each show. As hinted by the title, Heroes is made up of heroes and villains. Peter, Hiro, Claire, Mohinder, Micah (and so on) are all extremely likeable, while Sylar, Adam, and Bob, are clearly unlikeable.

Lost’s characters, on the other hand, are not clearly separated into black and white. Every character wavers around the gray area, with their good qualities always lying in the shadows of character flaws. Thus, Lost is still on a different plane from most other TV shows, unlike Heroes. Lost still manages to appeal to viewers without force-feeding appealing characters, intense action, and pop culture references. If only more shows like this could be “found.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

